Stratis Minakakis

Greek/active America, 1979-

Stratis Minakakis was born in Athens, Greece, in 1979. He studied theory, composition and piano performance at Athenaeum Conservatory, Princeton University and New England Conservatory. His basic teachers were Dimitri Minakakis, Claudio Spies and Malcolm Peyton. His artistic awards include the Third Prize of the International Composition Competition of the Center for Mediterranean Music, the Toru Takemitsu Award of the U.S.-Japan Society of Boston, the 2005 Prism Saxophone Young Composers Award and the Hallestead Prize of the University of Pennsylvania, which he won in two consecutive years. His music has been commissioned and performed by ensembles and performers such as the Arditti String Quartet, the PRISM saxophone quartet, cellist Rohan De Saram and the Second Instrumental Unit. He is currently pursuing a Ph.D. degree at the University of Pennsylvania.

Selected works by Stratis Minakakis:
“Make music of everthing.”
--Georges Aperghis