Arnold Schoenberg

Austrian/American, 1874- 1951
Mostly self-taught, Schoenberg studied with Zemlinsky quite late in the game. After his marriage in Berlin, he returned in 1903 to Vienna, where he taught at Dr. Schwarzwald’s Refornschule. It was during this period that Berg, Erwin Stern, Webern, and Wellesz were his students. When his first works (Verkl?rte Nacht, Pelléas et Mélisande…) received mixed receptions from the Viennese public, Schoenberg steered himself towards an atonal language beginning in the years 1906-1907. It was only between 1921 and 1924 that he wrote the first works using the new twelve-tone compositional technique. Professor at the Preussische Akademie der Künste in Berlin in 1925, he was given a warning by the national-socialist government in 1933 and emigrated that same year to the United States. During his seventeen years in America, he composed still more works using the twelve-tone technique, but also several in a very free tonality (Variations for organ in D minor, Variations for orchestra in G minor).

Selected works by Arnold Schoenberg:
“The future is what the present can bear.”
--Robert Fripp