Mario Davidovsky

Argentine/American, 1934-

Born in 1934 in Médanos, Buenos Aires, MARIO DAVIDOVSKY is one of the formative figures of contemporary American music. Renowned for his role in the development of electronic and electroacoustic music, Davidovsky has also written a vast corpus of chamber and vocal music. His awards and honors are too numerous to list with any level of completeness; he has received a Pulitzer Prize and awards from the Association Wagneriana, the Asociación Amigos de la Musica, BMI, and the National Institute of Arts, and has been commissioned by the Fromm Foundation, the Juilliard String Quartet, the Koussevitzky Foundation, Yale University, the New York Chamber Soloists, Parnassus, the Universities of Pennsylvania and Chicago, the Philadelphia Orchestra, Speculum Musicae, the San Francisco Symphony, MIT, the Naumburg Foundation, the Dorian Quintet, the Emerson Quartet, the New Music Consort, and the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra. Mr.Davidovsky is the Fanny P. Mason Prof. Emeritus at Harvard University, former MacDowell Professor of Music at Columbia University, and the director of the Composers Conference and Chamber Music Center at Wellesley College.

Selected works by Mario Davidovsky:
“The future is what the present can bear.”
--Robert Fripp