Quartetto No. 4 (2005)

for clarinet, violin, viola, 'cello
By Mario Davidovsky

Davidovsky writes of this work, “Quartetto for clarinet and strings is the fourth of a series of compositions combining a string trio with a fourth instrument of contrasting nature. It is a sequel to the Synchronisms series where electronic sounds were pitted against different acoustic instruments. The issues of confrontation and/or integration of the two spaces largely generate the musical narrative. It was commissioned by The Juilliard School of Music for its centennial celebration.”

Other works by Mario Davidovsky:
“Make music of everthing.”
--Georges Aperghis